If you were charged with identity theft, you will need an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney on your side. Do not hesitate to contact our firm today to discuss the specifics of your case and your options.
How does New Jersey define identity theft?
If someone uses your personal information, such as your name, Social Security number, or credit card number without your permission to commit fraud or other crimes, it is considered to be identity theft. Approximately 9 million Americans have their identity stolen each year, according to the Federal Trade Commission.
If you were charged with identity theft in the state of New Jersey, it is in your best interest to reach out to our skilled legal team. Our criminal defense attorneys are prepared to fight for you and your future.
What are some of the ways that identity theft occurs?
There are several ways that identity theft occurs. They include the following:
- Phishing: Phishing scams include fake emails sent from appearing legitimate corporations. These emails are sent with the purpose of deceiving you into sharing your personal information.
- Mail: Your bills are redirected to another address where they are read or your mail is stolen straight from your mailbox.
- Theft: Your personal information is collected through the theft of a wallet, purse, home burglary, or car burglary.
- Pretexting: This is similar to a phishing scam, but it happens over the phone, rather than by email.
- Dumpster Diving: Searching through your garbage for bills or other paper with your personal information on it.
- Skimming: Skimmers are small electronic devices. When your credit card is swiped through it, the device records all of the information encoded on your credit card. Common places these devices may be found include ATMs and gas stations.
What are the penalties of identity theft in New Jersey?
As technological advancements have increased, so have instances of identity theft in the state of New Jersey. As a result of this, New Jersey has become more strict with its identity theft laws in recent years. If you were charged with identity theft, depending on what you have done, you will likely face the following consequences:
- If you have stolen less than $500, there is only one victim, and it is the offender’s first offense, this is a fourth-degree crime. This can end in up to 18 months in prison and a fine of up to $10,000
- If the amount that was stolen is between $500 and $750,000, or there are two to four victims involved, this is a third-degree crime, potentially resulting in three to five years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000.
- If more than $75,000 are stolen or there are five or more victims, this level of theft is considered a second-degree crime, leading to five to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $150,000.
No matter how serious, if you were charged with identity theft, you will need an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side. Contact our firm today to discuss your case with our committed legal team.
Contact our Firm
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.