New Jersey takes assault charges very seriously which is why if you have been convicted, you will need to retain the services of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney to help you combat your charges. At the Vigilante Law Firm, P.C., our firm is dedicated to ensuring that you and your future are protected.
What are the different types of assault charges in New Jersey?
There are many several different types of assault that vary in both their severity and consequences. A person can still face serious charges and penalties even if he or she did not cause actual physical harm. It is important to note that a failed assault attempt can still result in criminal charges in addition to other threats that cause victims to fear for their safety. The most common assault charges in New Jersey include the following:
- Simple assault: This type of assault applies to when a person attempts to cause or purposely, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another; or negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or attempts by physical menace to input fear of imminent serious bodily injury. Usually, these charges do not have as severe consequences because they do not normally include a weapon and can cause little harm. The penalties for a simple assault charge include up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
- Aggravated assault: If a person purposely or knowingly causes injury to another individual with a deadly weapon, it will apply to this category. With this charge, the consequences are much harsher and can result in up to 10 years of imprisonment and/or a fine of up to $150,000.
If you are in this unfortunate situation, it is in your best interest to reach out to our firm today and retain the services of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney that can fight on behalf of you and your future. Our experienced legal team understands that your life is on the line, and we are prepared to do all that we can to protect you and your future.
What is the No Early Release Act?
Those who have been convicted of violent crimes in New Jersey are commonly subject to the state’s No Early Release Act. Under this law, individuals who have been convicted of certain violent crimes are expected to serve at least 85 percent of their time before they are qualified to request parole.
Contact our Firm
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.