Gloucester County Wage and Hour Lawyer

Contact Us
Gloucester County Wage & Hour Disputes Attorneys

Fortunately, most employers in Gloucester County and throughout New Jersey truly care about our right to make a living. Unfortunately, there are times when employers dispute with workers about the pay they are entitled to, and oftentimes, employers do so knowing that they are wrong, either to save money, spite their employees, or otherwise. This is when it’s time to discuss your situation with an experienced New Jersey wage and hour lawyer.


Many employees throughout the United States are protected under the Fair Labor Standards Act. Essentially, this Act determines the minimum wage for all those in the workplace, as well as overtime pay standards. However, due to the complexity of these laws, it can become quite complicated to determine whether your employer is taking advantage of you or not. Not all employees are protected under the law, which is why if you believe your employer is not abiding by the rules set out in the Fair Labor Standards Act, you may have a valid claim. Please continue reading and contact The Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. to learn more.

Who is Covered Under the Fair Labor Standards Act?

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is a federal law that determines the minimum wage and other wage standards for employees throughout the United States. As of now, the federal minimum wage is currently $7.25 an hour. However, you should note that there are various employers in New Jersey that are not subject to the FLSA, and those employers are entitled to pay their employees a lesser minimum wage. For example, if you are a tipped employee, such as a waiter at a restaurant, you may only receive a minimum wage of $2.13 per hour. In other cases, the FLSA allows employers to pay student learners, as well as full-time students in retail or service establishments, or institutions of higher education below the minimum wage as well. There are various other workers who are exempt from the minimum wage under the FLSA, including the following:

  • Babysitters
  • Fishermen
  • Newspaper delivery employees
  • Newspaper employees of limited circulation newspapers
  • Switchboard operators
  • Workers with disabilities

Overtime Laws Under the Fair Labor Standards Act

The Fair Labor Standards Act also governs the overtime laws for all those who qualify for overtime pay. If you work more than 40 hours per week in a qualifying job, you should receive 1.5 times the amount of your regular pay. There are also certain jobs that pay their employees overtime for working on federally-declared holidays. That being said, there are many jobs that are exempt from receiving overtime pay, such as the following:

  • Airline employees
  • Babysitters
  • Certain computer professionals that are covered under Section 13(a)(17) of the FLSA
  • Certain farmworkers on smaller-scale farms
  • Certain retail employees who receive commission
  • Livestock auction workers
  • Movie theater employees
  • Newspaper delivery employees
  • Police officers who work for public police departments with under 5 officers
  • Taxicab drivers

If you have any questions concerning whether your job qualifies for overtime pay, feel free to ask your employer, and if you believe you are being wrongly denied overtime pay, do not hesitate to give us a call today.

Contact a New Jersey Wage & Hour Lawyer

Unfortunately, wage & hour disputes are not rare occurrences. However, you can have peace of mind once you hire an experienced New Jersey wage & hour disputes attorney who has the knowledge and understanding of employment law needed to defend your rights. Contact The Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. today so an experienced New Jersey employment lawyer can get started.

Our Recent Blogs

What is the Purpose of an Ignition Interlock Device in New Jersey?

DWI penalties in New Jersey are severe. There are many life-altering consequences that can result from drinking and driving. One of the most common…

What to Know About the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) in New Jersey

Sometimes, life happens, and our only option is to take time off from work to handle personal matters. Luckily, New Jersey has mandated a…

Can I Receive a Hardship License After Receiving a DUI in New Jersey?

If you have recently been charged with a DUI or DWI and have a revoked or suspended license, as a result, contact our experienced…

Website built and managed by Accel Marketing Solutions, Inc