Will I Lose My Car After a DUI in New Jersey? | What to Know

Contact Us

DUI charges can have life-altering consequences in New Jersey. That is why if you have been charged, you will need to retain the services of an experienced Gloucester County DWI lawyer today. Our legal team is dedicated to ensuring that you and your future are protected.

Can my car get taken away in New Jersey after a DUI?

If you were driving while intoxicated or for refusing to provide a breath test, it is required by law that the police impound the vehicle you were driving. Once the 12-hour mandatory impoundment period has ended, you will be able to reclaim your car or send someone to reclaim it on your behalf.

If you are interested in learning more about your options and how our firm can help, do not wait to give our firm a call today. Our legal team is on your side no matter what.

What are the penalties for a DUI in New Jersey?

If you were found operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or above, then you have breached New Jersey law. With this driving under the influence charge, your ability to still safely operate your vehicle is irrelevant. If your blood alcohol content exceeds the legal limit, this independently will confirm you’re criminal responsible. You will likely encounter the following penalties if a court sees you guilty of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in New Jersey:

First offense:

  • Fines and fees of approximately $650 to $1,000
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Up to 48 hours of driver instruction at the Intoxicated
  • Driver Resource Center
  • $1,000 per year surcharges for 3 years
  • Suspension of driver’s license for 3 to 12 months

Second offense:

  • Up to $1,500 in fines and fees
  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • 30 days of community service
  • 48 hours of driver instruction at the Intoxicated Driver
  • Resource Center
  • $1,000 per year surcharges for 3 years
  • Suspension of driver’s license for 2 years
  • The installation of an ignition interlock device

Third offense:

  • Minimum fine of $1,000
  • Mandatory imprisonment in the county jail of not less
    than 180 days
  • 90 days of community service
  • 48 hours of driver instruction at the Intoxicated Driver
  • Resource Center
  • $4,500 in automobile insurance surcharges over a 3 year period
  • Suspension of driver’s license for 10 years
  • The installation of an ignition interlock device

If you were charged with a DUI, you will need to reach out to our firm today to speak to one of our experienced New Jersey criminal defense lawyers.

Contact our Firm

The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.

Our Recent Blogs

Juvenile Crimes in New Jersey | What to Know

If your child was charged with a crime, you will likely have many questions regarding your legal options. To learn more about juvenile crimes…

What to Know About Your FMLA Rights in New Jersey

If you would like to learn more about your rights under the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA), do not hesitate to reach out to…

Non-Disclosure Agreements in New Jersey | What You Should Know

If you are an employee who is exposed to confidential information tailored to your affiliated business, you may be required to sign a non-disclosure…

Website built and managed by Accel Marketing Solutions, Inc