You will need a dedicated legal team on your side if you are facing the consequences of a burglary or robbery charge in New Jersey. Contact our firm today to speak with our experienced New Jersey criminal defense lawyers today.
What is burglary?
In the state of New Jersey, a burglary charge is only given if that individual is found guilty of n order to be charged with burglary in New Jersey, you must be found guilty of trespassing. New Jersey defines trespassing as entering a structure or research facility without permission–while either engaging or having the intent to commit a crime in that building. In this context, the word “structure” can indicate rooms, buildings, ships, tents, airplanes, vehicles, or any other place used for sleeping or business. Also, in New Jersey, courts will boost your burglary charge to aggravated burglary if you are found guilty of either imposing or threatening to impose bodily injury on another person while in the act of committing a burglary. Also, you can be charged with aggravated burglary if you are either armed with or appear to be armed with an explosive device or deadly weapon.
If you were charged with burglary in New Jersey, you will likely face the following penalties:
- Up to 5 years in prison and a $15,000 fine.
- Also, if you are convicted of aggravated burglary, you may face up to 10 years in prison and up to $150,000 in fines.
You will need a dedicated criminal defense attorney on your side if you are facing the penalties of robbery or burglary. Reach out to our firm today. We are on your side no matter what you are facing.
What is robbery?
Robbery in New Jersey is defined as theft that concerns violence, force, or threat of force. In most cases, robbery offenses are thought of as second-degree offenses. However, it is important to recognize that charges can be elevated to the first degree if the offender tries to kill another person, inflicts bodily injury, commits or threatens to commit a crime, or is armed with, uses, or threatens the use of a weapon.
Some of the penalties that can ensue as a result of a robbery charge can include the following:
- Robbery in the First Degree: 10 to 20 years in jail.
- Robbery in the Second Degree: 5 to 10 years in prison as well as a $150,000 fine.
Do not wait to reach out to our firm today if you were charged with robbery or burglary in New Jersey. Our legal team can help you combat your charges.
Contact our Firm
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.