In every state, there are guidelines regarding how long you have to file a lawsuit against another party. It varies both by state and by what type of lawsuit you are filing. However, one of the most important things you can do is to find out what statute of limitations you must abide by because if you fail to file within that time period, you will not be able to bring a lawsuit at all.
If you want to bring a lawsuit in New Jersey, you must abide by the following statutes of limitations dependent on what the cause of action is.
- Personal Injury: 2 years from the date of the accident
- Medical Malpractice: 2 years from the date of the malpractice
- Wrongful Death: 2 years from the date of the death
- Product Liability: 2 years from the date of the injury
- Written Contract: 6 years (16 years in some situations)
- Claim against a Public Entity: 90 days
- Personal Injury: 2 years
- Medical Malpractice: 2 years
- Wrongful Death: 2 years
- Written Contract: 4 years (20 years in some situations)
- Product Liability: 2 years
- Claim Against a Public Entity: 6 months
If you have questions about filing a lawsuit in New Jersey or Pennsylvania, it is important that you consult with an experienced attorney who can provide you with assistance in getting started. Make sure you don’t wait too long to file and miss your chance.
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you recover the compensation you are entitled to. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.