What are the penalties for highest BAC in Pennsylvania?

Contact Us

When a person is arrested and charged with driving under the influence in Pennsylvania, their charges are based upon their blood alcohol content at the time of the arrest. The more alcohol in their blood system, the more severe penalties they will face. When the driver’s blood alcohol content is .16 percent or higher, they will be facing Highest BAC penalties, which is the most serious offense.

If the person has no previous driving under the influence offense on their record, they will face the following penalties:

  • Misdemeanor
  • License suspension for 12 months
  • Imprisonment for 72 hours to 6 months
  • Fine between $1,000 and $5,000
  • Attendance at the alcohol highway safety school
  • If ordered, alcohol addiction treatment

If the individual has had 1 prior driving under the influence offense, they are subject to the following penalties:

  • Misdemeanor in the 1st degree
  • License suspension for 18 months
  • Imprisonment for between 90 days and 5 years
  • Fine between $1,500 and $10,000
  • Attendance at the alcohol highway safety school
  • If ordered, alcohol addiction treatment
  • Ignition Interlock Device for 1 year

If the individual has 2 or more previous offenses for DUI, they will face the following consequences:

  • Misdemeanor in the 1st degree
  • License suspension for 18 months
  • Imprisonment for 1 to 5 years
  • Fine between $2,500 and $10,000
  • If ordered, alcohol addiction treatment
  • Ignition Interlock Device for 1 year

If you have been charged with a DUI of the Highest BAC, you should consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney today.

The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you recover the compensation you are entitled to. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.

Our Recent Blogs

Will I Get a DWI if My Keys Are Not in the Ignition?

Say, for instance, that you were charged with a DWI even though your keys were not in the ignition. You may be wondering how…

What Are Employment Law Violations Seen in the Workplace?

Being mistreated in the workplace is nothing less than unacceptable, especially if such mistreatment is in direct violation of federal and state employment law.…

What Makes an Employment Contract Void?

When you are hired as an employee at a company, your employer will likely require you to sign an employment contract before starting. This…

Website built and managed by Accel Marketing Solutions, Inc