The New Jersey Wage and Hour Law exists to create a number of regulations that employers must follow in regards to their employees. It is very important that the employers abide by all of the provisions of the law. If an employer fails to abide by all of the provisions of the act, they will be subject to certain penalties.
Some of the violations of the New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law include situations where an employer falsifies records, fails to keep or save required records, refuses to give records to the Commissioner when they have been requested, or violates any other part of the Act.
Penalties for Violations
As previously mentioned, there are a number of different penalties that an employer may face if they willfully violate the Wage and Hour Law. If they violate the law for the first time, they may be subject to a disorderly persons offense and issued a fine between $100 and $1000 for the violation. They may also be subject to anywhere from 10 days to 90 days of imprisonment.
If the employer has a second or subsequent violation, the employer may be subject to a fine between $500 and $1,000 and/or imprisonment for between 10 and 100 days.
If you believe your employer is violating the Wage and Hour Law, you should consult with an experienced employment law attorney who can provide you with assistance today.
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you recover the compensation you are entitled to. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.