New Jersey shares the sentiment with many other states throughout the country that anyone who is found to be driving under the influence should face serious penalties. You may be facing lifelong consequences and may not be able to obtain the rental housing you want, the jobs you apply for, as well as jail time, fines, fees, and surcharges.
The least serious of the DUI penalties is for a driver with a BAC above the legal limit but under 0.10 percent. These offenders will lose their driver’s license for 3 months, spend up to 30 days behind bars, spend between 12 and 48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver’s Resource Center, and pay up to $3,905 in fees, fines, and surcharges.
Any person who is found driving with a blood alcohol content level higher than 0.10 percent will result in a DUI. This charge will result in the revocation of driving privileges for 7-12 months. In addition, there is a serious financial burden associated with this type of offense. Each year for three subsequent years, an offender will be required to pay a $1,000 surcharge. The combined cost of all fees, fines, and surcharges will be at least $3800. They also will face up to 30 days in prison and must install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle for up to one year.
Like any other criminal charge, the more offenses a person has on their criminal record, the more severe the penalties become with each additional offense. If you have been charged with a driving under the influence charge in New Jersey, contact an experienced DUI defense attorney at The Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. who can provide you with assistance.
If you require strong legal representation for matters of employment law, personal injury, real estate, or criminal defense, contact an experienced attorney at the Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. today to schedule an initial consultation.