Separation Agreements for Older Employees

Contact Us

An employee who’s older than 40, presented with a separation or severance agreement by the employer, needs to know that there are certain requirements that the separation agreement must have. That includes a minimum or at least a 21-day consideration period. Now, the employee doesn’t have to take the full 21 days to consider it but the employer has to offer it. They also have to include a 7-day revocation period which means if the employee signs on day 1 and changes their mind on day 5, they have that period of time to reconsider and change their mind. Often with the severance agreement, when you sign it, you’ve given up your rights to challenge the termination or the end of your employment. So giving you that 7 days gives you a period of time to consider whether or not you really want to waive these rights.

If you require strong legal representation for matters of employment law, personal injury, real estate, or criminal defense, contact an experienced attorney at the Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. today to schedule an initial consultation.

Our Recent Blogs

Defenses for a DWI Charge in New Jersey

To learn more about the common defenses for a DWI charge in New Jersey, continue reading and give our skilled Gloucester County DWI lawyer. …

What Are the Consequences of an Out-of-State DWI in NJ?

In many instances, drivers are unaware of the DWI (driving while intoxicated) or DUI (driving under the influence) rules and regulations when it comes…

What Can Happen After Violating Probation in NJ?

The consequences of violating probation can be serious. If you were caught doing this, you will want to give our firm a call today…

Website built and managed by Accel Marketing Solutions, Inc