New Jersey Family Leave Act
Under the New Jersey Family Leave Act, commonly referred to as NJFLA, covered employees are entitled to take leave without losing their job, under certain conditions. Those conditions include:
- For an employee to receive leave under the NJFLA, employers must have at least 50 employees who work for at least 20 weeks out of the year or the previous year. All employees of the employer count toward this requirement, regardless if they are located in New Jersey or not.
- The employee who wants to take leave under NJFLA must have been employed with the employer for at least one year. They must have worked for at least 1,000 hours, including paid overtime, during the 12 months prior to the leave
- An employer may deny leave to employees whose base salaries are within the highest 5% of all employees. Prior to making this exception, an employer must give proper notice to the employee that they fall into this category.
Under What Circumstances May I Be Entitled to NJ Family Leave?
- If you are a covered employee who meets the conditions to take NJ Family Leave, some of the instances in which you may be entitled to take leave include:
- The care of a newborn or adopted child, and the leave must begin within on year from the date the child is born;
- The care of a parent, child under 18, spouse, or civil partner who has a serious health condition. Parents can include in-laws, step-parents, foster parents, adoptive parents, or others who have a parent-child relationship with an employee.
If you believe that you have been incorrectly denied NJ Family Leave, you should consult with an experienced employment attorney.
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you recover the compensation you are entitled to. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.