One of the biggest concerns that people have just become new parents have is that they want to spend this important time with their new child but aren’t sure if they will be penalized by their employer. In New Jersey, an employee may be eligible to claim Family Leave Insurance benefits in order to bond with either a newborn child or a child they have just adopted.
A new parent is eligible for these benefits during the first 12 months either after the child was born or adopted. In order to take this leave, it must be for at least seven days consecutively, unless the employer states otherwise. Your employer should be given notice of your intent to take leave at least 30 days prior to the beginning of the leave. Make sure that when you file your claim online, you provide the State with information about your employer, the dates you will take leave, and when the benefits will end. You will also be required to provide the state of New Jersey with the child’s birth certificate, declaration of paternity, or hospital discharge information (for a mother) if the child is a newborn. If the child is adopted, you will need to provide the certificate of placement or independent placement agreement.
If you have questions about your eligibility for leave or any other employment matters, contact our firm today.
The dedicated and compassionate employment law attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you recover the compensation you are entitled to. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.