New Jersey does not take theft crimes lightly. If you are facing the consequences of one, contact our experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorneys today.
How does New Jersey define theft crimes?
In New Jersey, theft of movable property is defined as unlawfully taking or exercising unlawful control of another’s movable property with the intent to deprive the owner. On the flip side, theft of immovable property is defined as illegally assigning any interest in another’s immovable property to serve themselves or another person who isn’t entitled to them. The state of New Jersey does not tolerate these crimes. That is why the consequences are severe and will include the following:
- Disorderly Persons Offense: This punishment applies when the property stolen is valued at less than $200. Usually, this results in up to 6 months in jail with further fines.
- Fourth Degree Theft: In this case, if the stolen property is valued between $200 and $500, the individual may be faced with up to 18 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000, or double the amount of the victim’s loss.
- Third Degree Theft: If the stolen property is estimated between $500 and $75,000 or it is a firearm, motor vehicle, boat, horse, airplane, or domestic companion animal, it will be held to third-degree theft. This charge can result in 3-5 years in prison and/or a fine up to $15,000, or double the amount of the victim’s loss.
- Second Degree Theft: In the instance that the stolen property is valued at $75,000 or more; theft by extortion; or, theft of 1 kilogram or more of a controlled substance, the outcomes will be critical: 5 to 10 years in prison and/or a fine up to $150,000, or double the amount of the victim’s loss.
Is robbery considered a theft crime?
The state of New Jersey does consider robbery a theft crime. Robbery is defined as theft that involves violence, force, or threat of force. It is essential to know that there are different degrees of robbery. Most offenses are identified as second-degree offenses. However, these charges can be increased to the first degree if the offender attempts to kill another person, inflicts bodily injury, commits or threaten to commit a crime, or is armed with, uses, or threatens the use of a weapon. The punishments of a robbery conviction in New Jersey are:
- Robbery in the Second Degree: 5 to 10 years in prison as well as a $150,000 fine.
- Robbery in the First Degree: 10 to 20 years in jail.
Furthermore, you will want to note that New Jersey has a No Early Release Act, which means that all robbery offenders are required to serve 85% of their sentence before they become qualified for parole. If you have additional questions, do not wait to reach out to our experienced criminal defense attorneys.
Contact our Firm
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.