What Are the Consequences of a Thanksgiving DWI in New Jersey?

Contact Us

What Are the Consequences of a Thanksgiving DWI in New Jersey?

Do not make the mistake of getting behind the wheel after drinking this Thanksgiving weekend. If you do, you will likely face severe consequences, as New Jersey does not take DWI charges lightly. Reach out to our experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorneys today to discuss the details of your case and how we can best help you.

What will happen if I receive a DWI Thanksgiving weekend in New Jersey?

The state of New Jersey does not tolerate DWI charges with ease, which is why if you are facing one on Thanksgiving weekend, you will likely face severe consequences, even if it is just your first offense. A first offense DWI charge with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) between .08-.09% in New Jersey, will likely result in the following penalties:

  • Loss of license for 3 months
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $250-$400 fee
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund Fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund Fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

If you were charged with your first offense DWI on Thanksgiving, do not wait to reach out to our experienced criminal defense attorneys as soon as you can.

What are the consequences of a second-offense DWI?

The result of a second DWI offense will be even more severe because you will be categorized as a repeat offender. You will likely face the following consequences after a second offense DWI in New Jersey:

  • A $500-$1000 fee
  • Possible 90 days in jail
  • Loss of license for 2 years
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund Fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund Fee
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Do not wait to reach out to our skilled criminal defense attorneys if you have questions about a second offense DWI in New Jersey.

What are the penalties after a third DWI offense?

With a third offense DWI, it is clear that you will need a skilled New Jersey attorney on your side. Otherwise, you will face the following consequences on your own:

  • License suspension for 10 years
  • A $1500 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund Fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund Fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Do not wait to reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney if you were charged with a DWI.

Contact our Firm

The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.

Our Recent Blogs

What Are the Consequences of a Thanksgiving DWI in New Jersey?

Do not make the mistake of getting behind the wheel after drinking this Thanksgiving weekend. If you do, you will likely face severe consequences,…

What are Whistleblower Rights in New Jersey? | What to Know

If you believe your whistleblower rights have been violated, you will need an experienced employment law attorney on your side. At The Vigilante Law…

What Are the Consequences of a Commercial DWI in New Jersey

The state of New Jersey takes regular DWI charges very seriously. So, it is no surprise that commercial DWI offenses are even more severe.…

Website built and managed by Accel Marketing Solutions, Inc