What to Know About Halloween Night DWIs in New Jersey

Contact Us

Many people get behind the wheel after a night of drinking on Halloween night. It is important to be aware of the consequences of DWI charges in New Jersey, and what your options are if you were charged with one. If you were charged with a DWI in New Jersey, do not wait to reach out to our skilled criminal defense attorneys as soon as possible.

What are the consequences of a Halloween night DWI in New Jersey?

New Jersey does not allow individuals with DWI charges to get off easy, which is why if you are facing one on Halloween night, you will likely endure severe consequences, even if it is only your first offense. A first offense DWI charge with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) between .08-.09% in New Jersey, will likely result in the following:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Loss of license for 3 months
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $250-$400 fee
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund Fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund Fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

If you were charged with your first offense DWI on Halloween night, do not wait to reach out to our skilled criminal defense attorneys as soon as possible.

What are the penalties for a second offense DWI?

The consequences of a second DWI offense will be even harsher because you will be treated as a repeat offender. You will likely face the following consequences after a second offense DWI:

  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $500-$1000 fee
  • Possible 90 days in jail
  • Loss of license for 2 years
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund Fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund Fee
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Do not hesitate to reach out to our skilled criminal defense attorneys if you have questions about a second offense DWI in New Jersey.

What are the penalties for a third DWI in New Jersey?

If this is your third DWI offense, you will need to hire the services of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney right away. The consequences of a third offense DWI will likely include the following:

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • License suspension for 10 years
  • A $1500 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund Fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund Fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

If you have been charged with a DWI in New Jersey on Halloween night, you will need to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney.

Contact our Firm

The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.

Our Recent Blogs

Juvenile Crimes in New Jersey | What to Know

If your child was charged with a crime, you will likely have many questions regarding your legal options. To learn more about juvenile crimes…

What to Know About Your FMLA Rights in New Jersey

If you would like to learn more about your rights under the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA), do not hesitate to reach out to…

Non-Disclosure Agreements in New Jersey | What You Should Know

If you are an employee who is exposed to confidential information tailored to your affiliated business, you may be required to sign a non-disclosure…

Website built and managed by Accel Marketing Solutions, Inc