If you would like to learn more about your rights under the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA), do not hesitate to reach out to our skilled FMLA lawyer in Gloucester County, New Jersey today. We are here to ensure you and your rights are protected.
Do I qualify for FMLA?
Keep in mind that there are specific circumstances that may merit FMLA leave. Those situations include having a child and wishing to bond with the child, caring for a family member with a severe health condition, developing a serious health condition yourself, and more. It is also important to recognize that you will also have to work for a qualifying employer to receive FMLA leave. Employers of companies that have more than 50 employees for at least 20 weeks in the current or previous year are instructed to award certain employees FMLA leave. If you are a person who has worked for a company for at least one year, and in the last year you have worked at least 1,250 hours, and if you work for a company with at least 50 employees within a 75-mile radius, you should be eligible for FMLA leave. If you are rejected, it is in your best interest to reach out to an FMLA lawyer to discuss your options.
How long am I protected under FMLA in New Jersey?
If you are an eligible New Jersey employee, FMLA gives you the right to take up to 12 weeks of leave in a 12-month period, and this leave resets in the next 12-month period, indicating if another situation should appear after the initial 12-month period, you may take an additional 12 weeks of leave. With that being said, in some instances, if you are caring for a military service member in your family, you may take up to 26 weeks of leave, though this greatly relies on the exact circumstances of your case. Keep in mind that even though this leave is unpaid, you should keep your health insurance throughout the time of your leave.
What is the New Jersey Family Medical Leave Act (NJFLA)?
Furthermore, certain qualifying employees are also authorized to leave under the NJFLA. Under the NJFLA, employers with at least 50 employees are mandated to grant their employees up to 12 weeks of leave in any 24-month period to either care for a qualifying family member with a serious health condition or to care for a newly born or newly adopted child. To be eligible for this leave, you, the employee, must have performed for the company for at least one year and 1,000 hours in the last 12 months.
Contact our Firm
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.