There are a lot of different terms that have to do with stealing, and they are often used interchangeably. For example, we often mix up theft, burglary, robbery, larceny, and so on. While these words all seem to mean the same thing, they have different legal definitions and they carry very different consequences. Read on to learn more about the difference between robbery and burglary in New Jersey and what to do if you are facing charges.
Burglary and the Consequences
To be convicted of burglary, you must be guilty of trespassing: entering a structure or research facility without permission–while either committing or having the intent to commit a crime within that building. The term “structure” is important because the phrase can apply to rooms, buildings, ships, tents, airplanes, vehicles, or any other place adapted for sleeping or business.
If you are convicted of burglary, you can face:
- up to 5 years in prison, on top of a $15,000 fine.
- If you are convicted of aggravated burglary, you may face up to 10 years in prison and up to $150,000 in fines.
New Jersey courts will upgrade your burglary charge to aggravated burglary if you are found guilty of either inflicting or threatening to inflict bodily injury on another person while in the act of committing a burglary. You may also be charged with aggravated burglary if you are either armed with or appear to be armed with an explosive device or deadly weapon.
Robbery and the Consequences
Robbery is defined as doing any of the following in the course of committing a theft crime:
- Inflicting bodily injury upon another person
- Threatening bodily injury upon another person
- Committing or saying that you are going to commit either a first or second-degree crime during the course of a theft.
If convicted, you may face:
- First-Degree Armed Robbery: You may go to prison for anywhere between 10 and 20 years, and you may also have to pay up to $200,000 in fines.
- Second-Degree Robbery: You may go to prison for anywhere between 5-10 years, and you may also have to pay a fine of up to $150,000.
If you are facing charges for burglary or robbery in New Jersey, you will need the help of an experienced attorney. We understand that people make mistakes and we are here to advocate for you each step of the way. Our firm will explore all possible avenues of legal defense. Reach out today to discuss your case.
Contact our Firm
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.