What Happens if I Get a DWI in Another State?

Contact Us
police car highway

You may understand the possible repercussions for being caught driving while intoxicated (DWI) in the state of New Jersey. However, if your stop and arrest occurred out-of-state, you may be unsure what jurisdiction this falls under; therefore, you may be unsure what potential penalties lay ahead of you. Continue reading to learn what happens if you get a DWI in another state and how an experienced Gloucester County DWI lawyer at The Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. can work on your defense strategy.

What are the consequences of getting a DWI in another state?

First of all, you may get your driver’s license suspended for the state in which your stop and arrest occurred. With this, the duration of your driver’s license suspension depends on the statute held within this particular state.

From here, this state may then report your DWI offense to the state of New Jersey’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The New Jersey DMV will then apply penalties as it sees fit.

It is worth mentioning that you may be considered a two-time offender if you receive a DWI conviction in the state of New Jersey and then another conviction in another state; or vice versa. Ultimately, this may mean that you are up against harsher consequences.

What are the possible penalties for my out-of-state vehicular offense?

Of note, most states follow the Driver’s License Compact, which is an agreement that allows outside states to treat DWI offenses as if they were committed in the driver’s home state. This is so long as the outside state has statutes that are substantially similar to that of the home state. The only states that do not abide by this agreement are Georgia, Massachusetts, Michigan, Tennessee, and Wisconsin.

This means that the state of New Jersey will treat your out-of-state DWI offense as if it occurred within its borders. Without further ado, below are the possible penalties for your out-of-state DWI:

  • First-offense, out-of-state, DWI:
    • License loss for three months.
    • A surcharge of $1,000 per year for three years.
    • Ignition interlock device (IID) installation for 3 months.
    • Fines of $250 to $400.
    • A prison term of up to 30 days.
    • Attendance at the New Jersey Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC) for 12 to 48 hours.
  • Second-offense, out-of-state, DWI:
    • License loss for two years.
    • A surcharge of $1,000 per year for three years.
    • IID installation for one to three years.
    • Fines of $500 to $1,000.
    • A prison term of 40 hours to 90 days.
    • Attendance at the New Jersey IDRC for 12 to 48 hours.
    • Community service for 30 days.
  • Third-offense, out-of-state, DWI:
    • License loss for 10 years.
    • A surcharge of $1,500 per year for three years.
    • IID installation for one to three years.
    • Fines of $1,000.
    • A prison term of up to 180 days.
    • Attendance at the New Jersey IDRC for 12 to 48 hours.
    • Community service for up to 90 days.

In the end, the first step you must take in your criminal defense is to retain the services of one of the experienced New Jersey criminal defense lawyers. So call us at The Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. today.

Our Recent Blogs

Can I Be Fired While on Leave with a Disability?

Sadly, you may have recently been made the victim of a catastrophic accident or otherwise received a medical diagnosis that now has you living…

Can I Get a Plea Bargain in My DWI Case?

Being pulled over and arrested on suspicion of drinking while under the influence (DWI) is no joke. You may be almost certain that the…

Do Independent Contractors Have Whistleblower Rights?

Independent contractors make up a considerable part of the New Jersey workforce. Specifically, these are people, businesses, or corporations that provide products and services…

Website built and managed by Accel Marketing Solutions, Inc