What Are the Consequences of Drugged Driving in New Jersey?

Contact Us

What Are the Consequences of Drugged Driving in New Jersey?

If you were charged with drugged driving in New Jersey, it is in your best interest to reach out to our firm today to speak with one of our experienced New Jersey criminal defense lawyers. Our legal team is on your side no matter what.

What is drugged driving in New Jersey?

The state of New Jersey finds that when an individual is caught driving under the influence of drugs there is the further possibility that the driver will have drugs in their possession within the vehicle. If the police officer has arrested you for a DWI he has probable cause to explore your vehicle. While searching the vehicle, if he finds drugs in your car you will be charged with drug possession in addition to the DWI. Depending on the number of drugs found, you might be charged with possession with intent to sell, which comes with increased penalties.

What are the consequences of drugged driving in New Jersey?

The penalties for DWI charges are similar for defendants who were driving while under the influence of drugs. The biggest change is for first-time offenders. For example, with alcohol cases, different penalties ensue depending on the BAC level of a first-time offender, meanwhile, those facing a driving under the influence of drugs (DUID) violation are subject to the penalties of a higher tier DWI comparable to those charged with a BAC of 0.10% or higher. The possible punishment for drugged driving offenses include the following:

First Offense:

  • 7 months to 1-year driving privilege suspension
  • $300-$500 fine
  • 12-48 hours at intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Insurance surcharge of $1,000/year for 3 years
  • $100 DUI enforcement surcharge
  • 6 months – 1-year installation of ignition interlock device after restoration of driving privileges (at judge’s discretion)

Second Offense:

  • 2 years driving privilege suspension
  • $500-$1,000 fine
  • 30 days community service
  • 12-48 hours at intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
  • 48 hours – 90 days in jail
  • Insurance surcharge of $1,000/year for 3 years
  • $100 DUI enforcement surcharge
  • Required installation of ignition interlock device during suspension and for 1-3 years after the restoration of driving privileges

Third Offense:

  • 10 years driving privilege suspension
  • $1,000 fine
  • Up to 90 days of community service
  • 12-48 hours at intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Insurance surcharge of $1,500/year for 3 years
  • $100 DUI enforcement surcharge
  • Required installation of ignition interlock device during suspension and for 1-3 years after the restoration of driving privileges

If you were charged with any of the above offenses, you will need to retain the services of our experienced New Jersey criminal defense lawyers today.

Contact our Firm

The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.

Our Recent Blogs

What You Should Know About Child Endangerment in New Jersey

Child endangerment in New Jersey is a serious offense. That is why if you have been charged, you will need to retain the services…

What Are the Consequences of Drugged Driving in New Jersey?

If you were charged with drugged driving in New Jersey, it is in your best interest to reach out to our firm today to…

What are the Consequences of a Criminal Record in New Jersey?

A criminal record can follow you through your life. Luckily, you may be eligible for expungement.  Expungement allows an individual's record to be essentially…

Website built and managed by Accel Marketing Solutions, Inc