When a driver in the state of Pennsylvania is charged with driving under the influence, they are facing serious consequences. With each further DUI offense, the associated penalties become even more severe. The legal limit of blood alcohol content in Pennsylvania is under 0.08 percent.
There are three levels of BAC considered when a person is charged with driving under the influence. The state considers blood alcohol levels between 0.08 percent and 0.099 percent to be “general impairment.” BAC levels of 0.10 to 0.159 percent are considered high blood alcohol content. The highest blood alcohol content is considered anything from 0.16 or above.
For a first offense general impairment DUI charge, a driver faces a $300 fine, up to 6 months of probation, a misdemeanor, and they must attend alcohol highway safety school. First-time offenders of High BAC DUI charges are subject to a 1 year license suspension, 48 hours to 6 months of jail time, a fine between $500 and $5,000, a misdemeanor, and attendance at the alcohol highway safety school. Finally, those who are charged with a DUI with the highest blood alcohol content are facing the most serious penalties. Without any prior DUI offenses, a person with a BAC of over 0.16 is subject to a misdemeanor, a fine between $1,000 and $5,000, anywhere between 72 hours and 6 months in prison, a 1 year license suspension, and time spent at the alcohol highway safety school. If a person has prior DUI offenses on their record, they are facing even further consequences. The most severe consequences that a person can face are for a BAC of .16 percent or higher and you already have had at least two DUI offenses on your record. For this, one would face a 1st-degree misdemeanor, a license suspension for 18 months, up to 5 years in prison, a fine of up to $10,000, potential alcoholism treatment, and the installation of an ignition interlock device.
There may also be situations in which the state would require you to install an ignition interlock device or go through treatment for alcohol abuse. If you have been charged with a DUI in Pennsylvania, it is crucial that you retain the services of an experienced attorney. Contact The Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. for strong legal representation in your DUI matters.