If you are facing the consequences of a commercial vehicle DWI, our firm understands that your future is on the line. Reach out to an experienced Gloucester County DWI lawyer today to discuss your legal options with our firm.
What is a commercial vehicle in New Jersey?
There are a number of different requirements a vehicle must meet in order to be considered a commercial vehicle in New Jersey. A vehicle that is deemed a commercial vehicle will likely require the driver to have a commercial license. The following circumstances will likely merit a commercial license:
- A truck with double or triple trailers
- A truck with a tank
- A passenger vehicle
- A truck carrying hazardous materials
What are the penalties of a commercial DWI in New Jersey?
You will want to realize that any kind of DWI in New Jersey is a serious offense in New Jersey. If you were caught by law enforcement operating a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .04% or higher, you can expect to encounter the following consequences:
- A 1-year CDL license suspension
- A 3-month suspension of your driver’s license
- Up to 48 hours at the intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
- Up to 30 days in jail
- Up to $400 in fines
Furthermore, keep in mind that if you are found operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .10% or higher, you will face even harsher penalties. In the event that this is your second offense, you may lose your license, which can have a harmful effect on those who drive a commercial vehicle for a living. If you have been charged, it is in your best interest to reach out to our firm today. Our experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorneys are dedicated to ensuring that you and your future are protected.
What are the differences between commercial DWIs and regular DWIs in New Jersey?
When looking at commercial vehicle DWIs versus a standard DWI charge in New Jersey, you will want to recognize that those who drive a commercial vehicle are held to a higher standard. To elaborate, a person with a regular driver’s license can face DWI charges if he or she is pulled over with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or higher. On the other hand, if a person is operating a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .04%, he or she can be charged with a DWI in the state of New Jersey.
If you were charged with any DWI offense in New Jersey, you know where to turn. Our experienced New Jersey criminal defense lawyers are on your side. Just give us a call today.
Contact our Firm
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.