Getting behind the wheel of a car after drinking can have serious consequences. You can harm yourself, your passengers, other drivers, and pedestrians. As a result, DWIs are taken seriously in New Jersey. Read on to learn more about first-offense DWI charges in New Jersey.
What is a BAC?
BAC refers to your blood alcohol content. Your BAC is dependent upon the amount of alcohol you consume, and the amount of time between drinks. Your BAC will impact your DWI charges.
First Offense DWI Penalties
If it is your first offense, DWI charges are tiered. This means that as your BAC increases, your penalties will increase.
If you have a BAC of.08-.09% you may face the following penalties:
- A maximum of 30 days of incarceration
- $1,000 surcharge each year for 3 years
- A fine between $250 and $400
- 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and applicable fees
- A $100 fee for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
- A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
- A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
- Ignition interlock device installation for 3 months
.If you have a BAC of .10-.15% you may face the following penalties:
- Forfeiture of your license until you install the ignition interlock device
- Prison up to 30 days
- 12-48 hours in the IDRC
- A fine between $300-$500
- $230 IDRC fee
- $100 drunk driving fund fine
- $100 to AERF
- $1000/ year for 3 years
- $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund
- IID installation between 7-12 months
Each time you are pulled over for driving while intoxicated, your penalties will increase.
What if I Am Under 21?
If an underage person in new Jersey has a blood alcohol content of just 0.01 percent or higher, they can face an underage DWI charge. This may result in the following penalties:
- A driver’s license suspension between 30 and 90 days
- 15-30 days of community service
- IDRC program completion
- Various fees and fines
What Do I Do if I Recieve a DWI?
If you are facing a DWI charge, you will want to retain the help of a skilled criminal defense attorney. An experienced attorney will work to have your charges reduced or dropped. Some potential defense include:
- The law enforcement officer who pulled the driver over on suspicion of driving while intoxicated made an unlawful traffic stop
- The law enforcement officer failed to observe the driver for at least 20 minutes before they administered a chemical breath test
- The law enforcement officer made an error while administering a field sobriety test, such as:
- Failure to read all of the instructions
- Failure to demonstrate the test
- Failure to tell the individual that they can remove high heels
- The accused party has health problems that make it impossible to pass a field sobriety test
Our firm will explore all possible defenses and legal avenues. Contact us to speak with a dedicated criminal defense attorney.
Contact our Firm
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.