What can I expect after a second DUI in New Jersey?

Contact Us

Getting charged with a DUI is a serious crime and if convicted, you will be facing serious consequences. New Jersey law enforcement takes driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol very seriously. If you have been charged with a DUI after already having a DUI conviction on your criminal record, the consequences that you face will be even more severe than those that you faced on your first drunk driving conviction. You will require the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney who can provide you with assistance.

A driving under the influence conviction only counts as a repeated DUI if the previous one happened within the last 10 years of the current charge. If this is your second offense within the last ten years, you will be facing a license loss for 2 years, imprisonment between 48 hours and 90 days, fines between $500 and $1,000, as well as many other fees and surcharges. You will also have to do 30 days of community service, 12-48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver’s Resource Center, and install an ignition interlock device in your car during the time in which your license is suspended and for an additional 1-3 years after it has been restored.

It is important that you obtain strong legal representation upon being charged with driving under the influence, especially if you already have a DUI conviction on your record. Contact our firm today for assistance.

The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you recover the compensation you are entitled to. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.

Our Recent Blogs

Is Stalking a Crime in New Jersey?

By New Jersey law, stalking is defined as purposeful conduct that may make a reasonable person fear bodily injury or death to themselves or…

How Do Employers Hide Wrongful Termination?

New Jersey is an at-will employment state. This means that absent of an employment contract with a specific term, your employer may have the…

What Are Defense Tactics for Homicide Cases?

Under New Jersey statute, homicide may be classified as a crime like murder or manslaughter. That alone may just tell you how seriously you…

Website built and managed by Accel Marketing Solutions, Inc