When drivers face violations such as speeding, distracted driving, or reckless driving, they may be subject to serious consequences. One such consequence that many drivers with violations face is an addition of points on their license. When drivers acquire 12 or more points on their driver’s license within 2 years in New Jersey, they may be subject to a license suspension. In addition, However, there are remedies that drivers can take to have some of the points removed from their license. New Jersey offers remedial driver programs that can allow drivers to prove that they are taking steps to try and be better drivers in the future.
Driver Improvement Program
One remedial driver program offered by the Motor Vehicle Commission is called the Driver Improvement Program. This is a class only given to drivers that have been notified of their eligibility form the MVC. If a driver fails to complete the class, they will be subject to a license suspension. The class typically costs no more than $150, broken into two payments. One will be a $75 payment to the MVC and the rest will be the cost of the class determined by the provider.
Probationary Driver Program
The Probationary Driver Program is for new drivers that are required to serve a 2-year probationary period because of two or more violations. This four-hour course will remove up to 3 points from your license upon completion.
If you have questions about how you can remove points from your license, contact our firm today.
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you recover the compensation you are entitled to. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.