Labor Day Weekend DWI Charge in NJ | Your Legal Options

Contact Us
drunk driving

Our firm understands the hardships a DWI charge can cause an individual. If you were charged this Labor Day weekend, do not wait to reach out to our experienced New Jersey criminal defense lawyers today.

What are the consequences of a first offense DWI charge this Labor Day weekend in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, DWI charges are serious offenses, even if it is just your first one. If law enforcement pulled you over this Labor Day weekend with a blood alcohol concentration of .08-.09%, you can expect to face the following penalties:

  • Up to 30 days of imprisonment
  • A $250-$400 fine
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • License forfeiture until the ignition interlock device is installed
  • $100 surcharge to the Drunk Driving Education Fund
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for three months

In the event that you have a blood alcohol concentration between .10-.15%, your punishments will be more severe, including the following:

  • Up to 30 days of imprisonment
  • A $300-$500 fine
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • License forfeiture until the ignition interlock device is installed
  • $100 surcharge to the Drunk Driving Education Fund
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Between 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for between 7 months and 1 year

What are the disadvantages of a second-offense DWI?

If this charge is your second DWI, you will most likely encounter the following:

  • A $500-$1,000 fine
  • Two to 90 days of imprisonment
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • License forfeiture for one to two years
  • A DWI surcharge of $125
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 30 days of community service
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center in accordance with treatment classification (usually 48 hours)
  • The installation and use of the ignition interlock device duration of your license suspension and two to four years after the license is restored
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $100 to AERF

What are the outcomes of a third DWI offense?

As expected, a third offense DWI charge has even more extreme consequences. If you acquired this offense, you will need a skilled Gloucester County DWI lawyer to help you avoid facing the following:

  • An 8-year license forfeiture
  • $1,000 fine
  • Six months in jail
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center in accordance with treatment classification
  • $100 to AERF
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 90 days of community service
  • $50 to VCCO
  • Ignition Interlock Device during license suspension and for two to four years after the license is restored

Contact our Firm

The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation.

Our Recent Blogs

Will I Get a DWI if My Keys Are Not in the Ignition?

Say, for instance, that you were charged with a DWI even though your keys were not in the ignition. You may be wondering how…

What Are Employment Law Violations Seen in the Workplace?

Being mistreated in the workplace is nothing less than unacceptable, especially if such mistreatment is in direct violation of federal and state employment law.…

What Makes an Employment Contract Void?

When you are hired as an employee at a company, your employer will likely require you to sign an employment contract before starting. This…

Website built and managed by Accel Marketing Solutions, Inc