Drivers are expected to proceed cautiously on the roads and in a safe manner. This is to ensure that the roads are safe for everyone. When drivers become distracted or operate a motor vehicle in an unsafe manner, it can cause accidents, which may have devastating consequences. Traffic violations are given out to prevent people from breaking the driving laws. Speed limits are a huge part of traffic violations. If individuals are charged with speeding, they may face various fines ranging in amount. Also, their insurance premiums may increase. These negative impacts can cause financial troubles. In the event that you are issued a traffic violation, you may want to consider reaching out for legal aid.
How is the point system structured for New Jersey?
In New Jersey, there is a point system in place based on how fast a person is charged with driving over the speed limit. When someone is charged with driving 1-14 miles per hour over the speed limit, they may face receiving two points on their license. If the individual is charged with going 15-30 miles per hour over the speed limit, they may face even more points on their license. This can lead to a four-point violation. As the miles per hour over the speed limit increases, the points on the individual’s license may also increase. If an individual is charged with speeding 30 miles per hour over the posted speed limit, they may face consequences of a five-point violation on their license. If a person is charged going 30 miles per hour over the speed limit, consequences can worsen. They may be charged with reckless driving.
New Jersey traffic violations also include cell phone usage while driving. A driver may face fines for a first and second offense of using their cell phone while driving. However, they could face points on their driving record if they are charged a third time.
Are Pennsylvania traffic violations different?
Pennsylvania traffic violations can differ from those in New Jersey. Drivers who are charged with speeding between 6-10 miles per hour over the speed limit may face two points on their license. Those who are charged going 11-15 miles per hour over the limit can be charged with three points. The points may continue to increase as the miles per hour over the speed limit continues to increase with the charge. For 16-25 miles per hour over the speed limit, drivers can face a four-point violation. Violations resulting in five points can be caused by speeding of 26-30 miles per hour over the limit.
If traffic violations occur in an active work zone, the driver could be subject to a 15-day suspension of their license if they are found guilty. If this involves a driver who was speeding 31 miles per hour over the limit, it could result in a departmental hearing and sanctions.
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.