If you were charged with harassment in New Jersey, it is important that you have strong legal representation. Continue reading and give our skilled sexual harassment attorney in Gloucester County, NJ a call today.
How does the state of New Jersey define harassment?
Harassment (N.J.S.A. 2C:33-4) is a blanket term that represents a wide spectrum of behaviors. In all circumstances, there must be an intent to harass accompanied by some combination of the following behaviors:
- Making communications anonymously or at extremely inconvenient hours, with offensively coarse language, or in any other manner likely to cause annoyance or alarm.
- Subjecting another to striking, kicking, shoving, or another offensive touching, or threatening to do so.
- Engaging in any other type of conduct of a repeated nature with the purpose of causing alarm or serious annoyance.
Basically, any repeated behaviors that are intended to be threatening, excessively annoying, or that happen at unreasonable hours could be deemed harassment in New Jersey.
What is needed to prove harassment?
The prosecution in a harassment case must establish that the defendant’s actions were done with intent. Basically, they knowingly bothered or threatened the offended party. Additionally, they must prove that at least one of the previously mentioned behaviors occurred, such as the usage of offensively coarse language, striking, or continuously threatening behavior. Note that this can be proven based on a single extreme incident or by showing a repeated pattern of behavior meant to cause panic.
What are the consequences of harassment?
- Most harassment charges are deemed as petty disorderly person offenses, which can have penalties of up to 30 days in jail and fines of up to $500, in addition to other potential penalties like community service. Additionally, if charged, your harassment charge will appear on your criminal record.
- If you are on probation or parole for any indictable offense under state law, your charge can be bumped up to a fourth-degree offense, even if the charge is unrelated. A fourth-degree offense has penalties of up to 18 months in jail and up to $10,000 in fines.
- Cyber harassment (N.J.S.A. 2C:33-4.1) also carries stricter penalties, as it is usually described as a fourth-degree offense under NJ State law.
- Keep in mind that harassment can be considered a type of domestic violence depending on the circumstances.
If you are encountering the consequences of harassment charges in New Jersey, do not wait to reach out to the Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. today to discuss the details of your case and your options. We are on your side no matter what.
Contact our Firm
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation.