New Jersey, like many other states, takes driving while intoxicated very seriously. When a driver is pulled over by law enforcement for suspicion of drunk driving, they may face very serious consequences. The officer will subject the driver to a series of field sobriety tests as well as a chemical breath test to determine whether their blood alcohol content is greater than 0.08 percent.
If a driver is found to have a blood alcohol content between 0.08 percent and 0.10 percent, they may be subject to a license suspension for 3 months, up to 30 days of imprisonment, between 12 and 48 hours at the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center, a fine between $250 and $400, a fee of $230 to the IDRC, $100 to the drunk driving fund, a surcharge each year of $1000 for three years, $100 to the AERF, and finally, $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund.
In the event that a driver is found to have a blood alcohol content of 0.10 percent or higher, they will be subject to all of the same fines and fees but will face a license loss for up to 1 year and a fine between $300 and $500, as opposed to a fine between $250 and $400.
If you have been charged with a DWI in New Jersey, contact our firm today.
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.