If you have recently been charged with a DUI or DWI and have a revoked or suspended license, as a result, contact our experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorneys to learn more about your options and whether you might be entitled to a hardship license. At the Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. our firm is prepared to create a strong defense for you to lessen your charges. Read on to learn more about hardship licenses and if you can obtain one in the state of New Jersey.
What is a hardship license?
A hardship license permits an individual who has a suspended or revoked license after being charged with a DUI to be able to drive to essential places. Typically, those who are granted a hardship license will only be allowed to travel to work, school, or a doctor’s appointment.
Can I receive a hardship license in New Jersey?
While many other states offer hardship licenses, the state of New Jersey does not. A New Jersey driver who has lost their driving privileges is qualified to receive driving privileges until their suspension time has been served. After a DUI or DWI, a driver will lose their license for a minimum of three months in New Jersey.
What are the reasons for license suspensions?
There are many reasons for license suspensions in New Jersey. The most common reasons for a license suspension include:
- DWI/DUI conviction
- Refusal to take a breathalyzer test
- Traffic offenses
- Mental or physical condition
- Failure to pay fines or court fees
- Failure to provide proof of motor vehicle insurance
- Abandoning a vehicle on a public highway
What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license in New Jersey?
The following are the possible penalties for driving with a suspended or revoked license in New Jersey:
- First Offense: Extension to a license suspension that cannot exceed six months and a fine of $500
- Second Offense: Possible imprisonment in the county jail for no longer than five days, possible extension of license suspension by up to six months, and a fine of $750
- Third Offense: 10 days in county jail, possible extension of license suspension for up to six months, and a fine of $1,000
If you were recently charged with a DUI or DWI in New Jersey, it is in your best interest to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Our firm is committed to ensuring your rights are protected.
Contact our Firm
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.