BAC in New Jersey

Contact Us

When an individual consumes alcohol, their blood alcohol content increases. The more drinks they have, the higher their blood alcohol content will be. In New Jersey and Pennsylvania, just as in most other states across the country, the legal limit of alcohol in one’s system for driving is 0.08 percent. Unfortunately, individuals often don’t know what their blood alcohol content is before they get behind the wheel of a car. Those that are found to be driving with a blood alcohol content that is greater than 0.08 percent can face charges for driving while intoxicated, which is a very serious matter.

In New Jersey, if an individual drives with a blood alcohol content between 0.08 percent and 0.10 percent, they can face the following penalties if convicted:

  • A loss of license for 3 months
  • Prison for up to 30 days
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC)
  • A fine between $250-$400
  • $230 IDRC fee
  • $100 drunk driving fund fine
  • $100 to AERF
  • $1000/ year for 3 years
  • $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund

The penalties are more severe if an individual has a BAC of .10 percent or higher:

  • A loss of license up to 1 year
  • Prison up to 30 days
  • 12-48 hours in the IDRC
  • A fine between $300-$500
  • $230 IDRC fee
  • $100 drunk driving fund fine
  • $100 to AERF
  • $1000/ year for 3 years
  • $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund

It is also important to be aware that if the driver has a blood alcohol content of .15 percent or higher, they will have to install an ignition interlock device during the license suspension and then for up to a year afterward.

If you have questions about DWI in New Jersey, contact our firm today.

The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.

Our Recent Blogs

Will I Get a DWI if My Keys Are Not in the Ignition?

Say, for instance, that you were charged with a DWI even though your keys were not in the ignition. You may be wondering how…

What Are Employment Law Violations Seen in the Workplace?

Being mistreated in the workplace is nothing less than unacceptable, especially if such mistreatment is in direct violation of federal and state employment law.…

What Makes an Employment Contract Void?

When you are hired as an employee at a company, your employer will likely require you to sign an employment contract before starting. This…

Website built and managed by Accel Marketing Solutions, Inc