What to Know About Ignition Interlock Devices in New Jersey

Contact Us

Drinking and driving is an incredibly dangerous act. Driving while intoxicated endangers the driver, any passengers, other drivers on the road, and pedestrians. As a result, this act has serious consequences. One consequence you may face for a DWI in New Jersey is the implementation of an ignition interlock device. Read on to learn more about ignition interlock devices in New Jersey.

What is an Ignition Interlock Device?

An ignition interlock device is a device that is installed into your car. It requires individuals to take a breathalyzer test each time they wish to start their car. If the ignition interlock device reads a level of 0.05% BAC or higher, the car will not start. If an individual does not own a car, the device must be installed on any car that they may operate. Individuals who must participate in this program are required to pay for the installation and other expenses related to the device.

When Are Ignition Interlock Devices Implemented?

These devices are installed when an individual faces certain DWI charges. You will have to utilize the ignition interlock device for a certain amount of time depending on a number of different factors. Some of these factors include your BAC, your previous charges, and so on.

What Do I Need to Know About Ignition Interlock Devices?

The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission requires that the ignition interlock device meets the following criteria:

  • The device must be installed at a service center designated by the Motor Vehicle Commission
  • The device must be able to detect a blood alcohol content of 0.05 percent
  • The device must be serviced every 67 days
  • The device requires a label warning of civil liability or prosecution for anyone who tampers with the device

What Do I Do if I am Charged With a DWI in New Jersey?

If you are facing DWI charges in New Jersey, it is in your best interest to reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney. These charges can have a lasting impact on your life. An attorney will advocate for you and explore all possible avenues of defense.

If you or a loved one has been charged with a DWI in New Jersey, contact our firm today to speak with a skilled criminal defense attorney. Additionally, feel free to reach out with any questions or concerns regarding ignition interlock devices and their requirements.

Contact our Firm

The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.

Our Recent Blogs

Juvenile Crimes in New Jersey | What to Know

If your child was charged with a crime, you will likely have many questions regarding your legal options. To learn more about juvenile crimes…

What to Know About Your FMLA Rights in New Jersey

If you would like to learn more about your rights under the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA), do not hesitate to reach out to…

Non-Disclosure Agreements in New Jersey | What You Should Know

If you are an employee who is exposed to confidential information tailored to your affiliated business, you may be required to sign a non-disclosure…

Website built and managed by Accel Marketing Solutions, Inc