Burglary offenses are taken very seriously in New Jersey. If you were charged, do not wait to reach out to one of our skilled New Jersey criminal defense lawyers today. Our firm is on your side.
What is burglary in New Jersey?
In New Jersey, burglary is defined as unlawful breaking and entering into a structure owned by another with the purpose of committing a felony or larceny while in the structure. To be convicted of this crime, you must be guilty of trespassing. Trespassing in New Jersey means entering a structure or research facility without permission–while either committing or having the intent to commit a crime within that building. In many cases, the term “structure” can mean rooms, buildings, ships, tents, airplanes, vehicles, or any other place adapted for sleeping or business.
Furthermore, courts in New Jersey will upgrade your charge to aggravated burglary if you are deemed guilty of either inflicting or threatening to inflict bodily injury on another person while in the act of committing a burglary. You can also be charged with aggravated burglary if you are either armed with or appear to be armed with an explosive device or deadly weapon.
If you were charged with burglary in New Jersey, it is in your best interest to reach out to The Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. today to learn more about how our skilled criminal defense attorneys can help you. Our legal team will assess the details of your case and provide you with various options for potential solutions. Give us a call today.
What are the punishments for burglary in New Jersey?
In many states, burglary is considered a felony offense. New Jersey deems this an indictable crime. In New Jersey, there are four levels of indictable crimes that New Jersey identifies, ranging from fourth-degree crimes to first-degree crimes. First-degree crimes are considered the harshest crimes. New Jersey penalties for burglary are usually treated as second-degree crimes or third-degree crimes even if they are considered first offenses.
If you are convicted of burglary, you may face the following:
- Up to 5 years in prison and a $15,000 fine.
- If you are convicted of aggravated burglary, you may face up to 10 years in prison and up to $150,000 in fines.
Do not wait to reach out to an experienced New Jersey criminal defense lawyer if you have been charged with burglary. Our firm is on your side.
Contact our Firm
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.