What Are the Consequences of a Commercial DWI in New Jersey

Contact Us

What Are the Consequences of a Commercial DWI in New Jersey

The state of New Jersey takes regular DWI charges very seriously. So, it is no surprise that commercial DWI offenses are even more severe. If you were charged, you will need a skilled New Jersey criminal defense attorney on your side. Do not wait to reach out to our firm as soon as possible to begin creating your defense with a dedicated member of our legal team.

What does New Jersey consider a commercial vehicle?

A commercial vehicle must meet several qualifications to be characterized as such in the state of New Jersey. A vehicle that is considered a commercial vehicle will likely require the driver to have a commercial license. The following circumstances will likely result in a commercial license:

  • A passenger vehicle
  • A truck with double or triple trailers
  • A truck with a tank
  • A truck carrying hazardous materials

How are commercial DWIs and regular DWIs distinct from each other?

Individuals who drive a commercial vehicle are held to a higher standard when it comes to DWI charges and sentences. A person with a regular driver’s license can face DWI charges if he or she is pulled over with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or higher. On the other hand, if an individual is driving a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .04%, he or she can be charged with a DWI in the state of New Jersey.

What are the consequences of commercial DWIs in New Jersey?

DWIs are a serious offense in New Jersey. If this is your first charge and you were pulled over by law enforcement with a blood alcohol concentration of .04% or higher, you will likely face the following consequences:

  • A 3-month suspension of your driver’s license
  • A 1-year CDL license suspension
  • Up to 48 hours at the intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Up to $400 in fines

It is fundamental to recognize that if you are pulled over with a blood alcohol concentration of .10% or higher, you will likely confront more serious outcomes. If this is your second offense, you may lose your license, which can have a detrimental effect on you if you drive a commercial vehicle for your job. If you have been charged, do not wait to reach out to our firm today. Our skilled New Jersey criminal defense attorneys have the knowledge needed to represent you and defend your rights.

Contact our Firm

The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.

Our Recent Blogs

What Are the Consequences of a Thanksgiving DWI in New Jersey?

Do not make the mistake of getting behind the wheel after drinking this Thanksgiving weekend. If you do, you will likely face severe consequences,…

What are Whistleblower Rights in New Jersey? | What to Know

If you believe your whistleblower rights have been violated, you will need an experienced employment law attorney on your side. At The Vigilante Law…

What Are the Consequences of a Commercial DWI in New Jersey

The state of New Jersey takes regular DWI charges very seriously. So, it is no surprise that commercial DWI offenses are even more severe.…

Website built and managed by Accel Marketing Solutions, Inc