If you were charged with a theft crime in the state of New Jersey, continue reading and give our skilled legal team a call today. Our experienced New Jersey criminal defense lawyers are on your side no matter what you are facing.
How does New Jersey define theft crimes?
In New Jersey, theft of movable property is referred to as unlawfully taking or exercising unlawful control of another’s movable property with the intent to deprive the owner. On the other hand, theft of immovable property is described as illegally assigning any interest in another’s immovable property to serve themselves or another person who isn’t qualified for them. The state of New Jersey does not take these crimes lightly. That is why the consequences are severe and will include the following:
- Disorderly Persons Offense: This punishment is used when the property stolen is valued at less than $200. Typically, this results in up to 6 months in jail with additional fines.
- Fourth Degree Theft: In this case, if the stolen property is valued between $200 and $500, the individual may be faced with up to 18 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000, or double the amount of the victim’s loss.
- Third Degree Theft: If the stolen property is estimated between $500 and $75,000 or it is a firearm, motor vehicle, boat, horse, airplane, or domestic companion animal, it will be held to third-degree theft. This charge can result in 3-5 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $15,000, or double the amount of the victim’s loss.
- Second Degree Theft: In the case that the stolen property is valued at $75,000 or more; theft by extortion; or, theft of 1 kilogram or more of a controlled substance, the outcomes will be critical: 5 to 10 years in prison and/or a fine up to $150,000, or double the amount of the victim’s loss.
Is robbery considered a theft crime?
In the state of New Jersey, robbery is not considered a theft crime. Robbery is defined as theft that involves violence, force, or threat of force. It is important to understand that there are different degrees of robbery. Most offenses are recognized as second-degree offenses. However, these charges can be increased to the first degree if the offender attempts to kill another person, inflicts bodily injury, commits or threaten to commit a crime, or is armed with, uses, or threatens the use of a weapon. The punishments of a robbery conviction in New Jersey include:
- Robbery in the Second Degree: 5 to 10 years in prison as well as a $150,000 fine.
- Robbery in the First Degree: 10 to 20 years in jail.
Also, you will want to keep in mind that New Jersey has a No Early Release Act, which implies that all robbery offenders are required to serve 85% of their sentence before they become qualified for parole. If you have further questions, it is in your best interest to reach out to our skilled criminal defense attorneys.
Contact our Firm
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation.