St. Patrick’s Day DWI Charges in New Jersey | What to Know

Contact Us

If you were charged with a DWI this St. Patrick’s Day, you will need a skilled Gloucester County DWI lawyer on your side. Contact our firm today to learn more.

What can happen if I received a DWI this St. Patrick’s Day?

If you were caught driving under the influence this St. Patrick’s Day, you can expect to face serious consequences, even if it is your first offense. In the event that you are behind the wheel with a blood alcohol concentration of .08-.09%, you may face the following:

  • A $250-$400 fine
  • Up to 30 days of imprisonment
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • License forfeiture until the ignition interlock device is installed
  • $100 surcharge to the Drunk Driving Education Fund
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for three months

If you have a blood alcohol concentration between .10-.15%, you can expect even more severe penalties, including:

  • A $300-$500 fine
  • Up to 30 days of imprisonment
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • License forfeiture until the ignition interlock device is installed
  • $100 surcharge to the Drunk Driving Education Fund
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Between 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for between 7 months and 1 year

What can happen if this is my second offense DWI in New Jersey?

A second offense DWI charge will land you the following:

  • A $500-$1,000 fine
  • Two to 90 days of imprisonment
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • License forfeiture for one to two years
  • A DWI surcharge of $125
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 30 days of community service
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center in accordance with treatment classification (usually 48 hours)
  • The installation and use of the ignition interlock device duration of your license suspension and two to four years after the license is restored
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $100 to AERF

Will I go to jail after my third DWI charge?

As expected, a third offense DWI charge has even more severe effects. If you are facing the consequences of this charge, you will need an experienced attorney on your side or else you will face:

  • An 8-year license forfeiture
  • $1,000 fine
  • Six months in jail
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center in accordance with treatment classification
  • $100 to AERF
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 90 days of community service
  • $50 to VCCO
  • Ignition Interlock Device during license suspension and for two to four years after the license is restored

Contact our Firm

The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.

Our Recent Blogs

Juvenile Crimes in New Jersey | What to Know

If your child was charged with a crime, you will likely have many questions regarding your legal options. To learn more about juvenile crimes…

What to Know About Your FMLA Rights in New Jersey

If you would like to learn more about your rights under the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA), do not hesitate to reach out to…

Non-Disclosure Agreements in New Jersey | What You Should Know

If you are an employee who is exposed to confidential information tailored to your affiliated business, you may be required to sign a non-disclosure…

Website built and managed by Accel Marketing Solutions, Inc