New Jersey takes DWI charges very seriously. If you are charged with a DWI, you will face a number of life-altering penalties. One of the largest penalties may be that of an ignition interlock device. Read on to learn more about these devices, how they work, when they will be implemented, and more.
How do Ignition Interlock Devices Work?
An ignition interlock device (IID) is a device that is installed into your car. It requires individuals to take a breathalyzer test each time they wish to start their car. If the ignition interlock device reads a level of 0.05% BAC or higher, the car will not start. If an individual does not own a car, the device must be installed on any car that they may operate. Individuals who must participate in this program are required to pay for the installation and other expenses related to the device. It is important to note that you cannot have another individual take the test for you, as the car will require random tests while driving.
When Are Ignition Interlock Devices Implemented?
When someone receives a DWI ignition interlock devices are usually required. But, the amount of time you must use the device varies on a number of things. Your BAC and your previous charges may play a role in how long you will have the device. For example:
- For a first offense and a BAC of .08-.09%, you will generally have an ignition interlock device for 3 months
- For a first offense and a BAC of .10% or above, you may face IID installation between 7-12 months
- For a second DWI offense, you may have to install an ignition interlock device in your car during the time in which your license is suspended and for an additional 1-3 years after your license has been restored.
Ignition Interlock Device Criteria
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission requires that the ignition interlock device meets the following criteria:
- The device must be installed at a service center designated by the Motor Vehicle Commission
- The device must be able to detect a blood alcohol content of 0.05 percent
- The device must be serviced every 67 days
- The device requires a label warning of civil liability or prosecution for anyone who tampers with the device
If you are facing DWI charges in New Jersey, you should contact an experienced criminal defense attorney. Our firm is here to advocate for you and explore all possible avenues of defense.
Contact our Firm
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.