Fourth of July DWI Charges in New Jersey

Contact Us

If you were charged with a DWI this Fourth of July, it is in your best interest to reach out to our firm today to speak with our experienced New Jersey criminal defense lawyers. Our legal team is on our side.

What are the consequences of a first offense DWI charge this Fourth of July in New Jersey?

It is important to recognize that in New Jersey, DWI charges are serious offenses, even if it is just your first one. In the event that law enforcement caught you this Fourth of July weekend with a blood alcohol concentration of .08-.09%, you may encounter the following penalties:

  • Up to 30 days of imprisonment
  • A $250-$400 fine
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • License forfeiture until the ignition interlock device is installed
  • $100 surcharge to the Drunk Driving Education Fund
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for three months

In the event that you have a blood alcohol concentration between .10-.15%, you can expect even more severe punishments, including:

  • Up to 30 days of imprisonment
  • A $300-$500 fine
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • License forfeiture until the ignition interlock device is installed
  • $100 surcharge to the Drunk Driving Education Fund
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Between 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for between 7 months and 1 year

What are the penalties of a second-offense DWI?

If this charge is your second DWI, you will most likely face the following:

  • A $500-$1,000 fine
  • Two to 90 days of imprisonment
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • License forfeiture for one to two years
  • A DWI surcharge of $125
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 30 days of community service
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center in accordance with treatment classification (usually 48 hours)
  • The installation and use of the ignition interlock device duration of your license suspension and two to four years after the license is restored
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $100 to AERF

What are the consequences of a third DWI offense?

As anticipated, a third offense DWI charge has even more severe consequences. If you obtained this offense, you will need an experienced Gloucester County DWI lawyer to help you evade facing the following:

  • An 8-year license forfeiture
  • $1,000 fine
  • Six months in jail
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center in accordance with treatment classification
  • $100 to AERF
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 90 days of community service
  • $50 to VCCO
  • Ignition Interlock Device during license suspension and for two to four years after the license is restored

Contact our Firm

The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation.

Our Recent Blogs

What Should I Do If I Believe I’m a Victim of Religious Discrimination in the Workplace?

Nobody should have to fear that they'll be discriminated against in the workplace for any reason, whether it's for their gender, race, orientation, or…

Can I Obtain a Hardship License in New Jersey?

If you have obtained a DWI charge in New Jersey, our firm understands that you may be overwhelmed. If you are unsure about whether…

What Are the Implications of a Criminal Record in NJ?

Having a criminal record can have devastating effects on an individual's life. To learn more about this, continue reading and give our experienced New…

Website built and managed by Accel Marketing Solutions, Inc