Easter Weekend DWIs in New Jersey | What to Know

Contact Us

Easter Weekend DWIs in New Jersey | What to Know

Over Easter Weekend, many people find themselves enjoying a bottomless brunch with close friends and family. While it is perfectly fine to celebrate the holiday with drinks, some people make the decision to drive while intoxicated. Drinking and driving is a serious offense in New Jersey, and a DWI carries harsh penalties. As a result, it is important to know what consequences you may face for a DWI and what to do if you are facing charges. Read on for more information.

First Offense DWI

When a driver is pulled over for a DWI for the first time, there are many consequences the driver may face. For drivers with a BAC over 0.08% but under 0.10%, penalties may include:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Loss of license for 3 months
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $250-$400 fee
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund Fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund Fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

These penalties will differ if you are under the age of 21.

Second Offense DWI

If a driver is found driving under the influence for a second time, regardless of their BAC, the penalties will be harsher. These may consist of:

  • Possible 90 days in jail
  • Loss of license for 2 years
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $500-$1000 fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund Fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund Fee
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Third Offense DWI

Drivers who are charged with their third DUI within 10 years of their first charge are subject to much more severe consequences. This may include:

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • License suspension for 10 years
  • A $1500 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund Fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund Fee
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

If you are facing DWI charges, you will need to retain the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney. We understand that people make mistakes and we are here to advocate for you. Our firm will walk you through all of your criminal law matters and explore all possible avenues of defense.

Contact our Firm

The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.

Our Recent Blogs

Illegally Owning a Gun in New Jersey | What to Know

New Jersey has some of the strictest gun laws in the country. As a result, it can be difficult to legally obtain a gun.…

Easter Weekend DWIs in New Jersey | What to Know

Over Easter Weekend, many people find themselves enjoying a bottomless brunch with close friends and family. While it is perfectly fine to celebrate the…

What to Know About Domestic Violence Charges in New Jersey

New Jersey takes accusations of domestic violence very seriously. Read on to learn more about domestic violence accusations, the process of obtaining a restraining…

Website built and managed by Accel Marketing Solutions, Inc