Will I Go to Jail for a DWI in New Jersey? | What to Know

Contact Us

If you are charged with a DWI in New Jersey, you may be wondering about whether or not you will face jail time. Read on and speak with our skilled Gloucester County DWI lawyer to learn more.

Will I go to jail for a first-offense DWI in New Jersey?

If you were pulled over by law enforcement driving under the influence of alcohol, it is important to recognize that despite it being your first offense, you can still face serious consequences, including jail time. If you are behind the wheel with a blood alcohol concentration of .08-.09%, you may face the following:

  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • A $250-$400 fine
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • License forfeiture until the ignition interlock device is installed
  • $100 surcharge to the Drunk Driving Education Fund
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for three months

With a blood alcohol concentration between .10-.15%, you will encounter more stringent penalties, including:

  • Up to 30 days of imprisonment
  • A $300-$500 fine
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • License forfeiture until the ignition interlock device is installed
  • $100 surcharge to the Drunk Driving Education Fund
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Between 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • The mandatory installation and use of the ignition interlock device at your own cost for between 7 months and 1 year

What are the consequences of a second offense DWI in New Jersey?

You will likely face the following after a second offense DWI charge:

  • Two to 90 days in jail
  • A $500-$1,000 fine
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • License forfeiture for one to two years
  • A DWI surcharge of $125
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 30 days of community service
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center in accordance with treatment classification (usually 48 hours)
  • The installation and use of the ignition interlock device duration of your license suspension and two to four years after the license is restored
  • $50 to VCCO
  • $100 to AERF

Will I go to jail after my third DWI charge?

As you can imagine, a third offense DWI charge has even more extreme consequences. You will need a skilled attorney on your side or else you will face the following:

  • Six months in jail
  • An 8-year license forfeiture
  • $1,000 fine
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center in accordance with treatment classification
  • $100 to AERF
  • $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
  • DWI surcharge of $125
  • $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
  • Up to 90 days of community service
  • $50 to VCCO
  • Ignition Interlock Device during license suspension and for two to four years after the license is restored

Contact our Firm

The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.

Our Recent Blogs

Defenses for a DWI Charge in New Jersey

To learn more about the common defenses for a DWI charge in New Jersey, continue reading and give our skilled Gloucester County DWI lawyer. …

What Are the Consequences of an Out-of-State DWI in NJ?

In many instances, drivers are unaware of the DWI (driving while intoxicated) or DUI (driving under the influence) rules and regulations when it comes…

What Can Happen After Violating Probation in NJ?

The consequences of violating probation can be serious. If you were caught doing this, you will want to give our firm a call today…

Website built and managed by Accel Marketing Solutions, Inc