Unfortunately, many people are caught driving recklessly in the state of New Jersey. If you were charged with reckless driving in New Jersey, you will need to retain the services of one of our experienced New Jersey criminal defense lawyers. Our legal team has the experience and knowledge required to ensure that you and your future are protected. Give us a call today to get started.
How does New Jersey define reckless driving?
There are a number of different reasons an individual can receive a reckless driving ticket. Some of the more common reasons can include driving more than 30 miles per hour over the speed limit, driving while intoxicated, or damaging property with a vehicle. Reckless driving in New Jersey is described as operating “a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger, a person’s property,” according to N.J.S.A. 39:4-96. Although there are often reckless driving cases that end up in the destruction of property or injury to another person, this is not required for this claim.
What are the consequences of reckless driving in New Jersey?
In the state of New Jersey, if you are charged with reckless driving, you can expect to face very serious penalties. Law enforcement seeks to keep any dangerous drivers off the roads and punish those who continue to drive recklessly. The penalties for a reckless driving offense in New Jersey include the following:
- A first reckless driving offense is punishable by up to 60 days of imprisonment and/or a fine of $50-$200, in addition to 5 points on your driving record
- A second or subsequent offense is punishable by up to 3 months of imprisonment and/or a fine between $100 and $500, as well as 5 points on your driving record
It is important to recognize that if you accumulate at least 6 points on your driving record within 3 years, you may face increased insurance premiums and surcharges. Anyone who has accumulated 12 or more points can lose their driver’s license.
What are other variations of driving recklessly in New Jersey?
There are a number of different kinds of reckless driving in New Jersey. For instance, careless driving, a lesser offense, occurs when someone operates a motor vehicle “without due caution and circumspection, in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger, a person or property,” as stated in N.J.S.A. 39:4-95.
Contact our Firm
The dedicated and compassionate attorneys at Vigilante Law Firm, P.C. would be happy to provide you with assistance in your case and help you protect your future when so much is on the line. Contact us today to schedule a consultation so we can assess the specific circumstances surrounding your lawsuit.